Board Elections & Trustee Area

Terms Of Office

The Governing Board consists of five members whose terms shall be staggered so that, as nearly as practicable, one-half of the members shall be elected in each year in which the Board's elections are regularly held. (Education Code 35012).

The term of office for members elected in regular elections shall be four years, commencing on the second Friday in December next succeeding their election. (Education Code 5017)

Board members whose terms have expired shall continue to discharge the duties of the office until their successors have qualified by taking the oath of office. (Education Code 5017; Government Code 1302, 1360)

If a regularly scheduled Board election date is changed due to consolidation with a statewide or municipal general election, the term of incumbent Board members shall be extended to align with the next applicable election. (Elections Code 10404.5)

For more information on the elections process, please visit

District Elections & Trustee Area Maps

Board members of the Cabrillo Unified School District were previously elected “at-large,” meaning that candidates were required to reside within the attendance areas of the Cabrillo Unified School District and the voters of the entire district elected the candidates to the Board. A “by-trustee area” election, wherein one candidate residing in each trustee area is elected by only the registered voters in that particular trustee area, ensures compliance with the California Voting Rights Act (CVRA). The Board moved to a “by-trustee area” electoral system in 2019, which began with the 2020 Board election.  Please see the relevant information below.

What District Area do I belong to?

CUSD residents can visit this map and type in their address to learn which Trustee Area represents them on the CUSD Governing Board.

Who is my District Area Representative?

Trustee Area A:  Carmen Daniel (Term expires: 2026)
Trustee Area B:  Kimberly Hines (Term expires: 2024)
Trustee Area C:  Lizet Cortes (Term expires: 2026)
Trustee Area D:  Sophia Layne (Term expires: 2024)
Trustee Area E:  Mary Beth Alexander (Term expires: 2026)


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.